• July 30, 2019
  • by Jessica D’Amato

New York, NY—The American Kennel Club (AKC®), the world’s largest purebred dog registry and advocate for all dogs, continues its commitment to students pursuing their education in veterinary studies with the announcement of the 2019 AKC Veterinary Outreach Scholarship recipients.

This scholarship is designed to support individuals with a background of participation in AKC events and programs, who seek to promote animal health and medicine. A total of $35,000 in scholarship money was awarded.

Recipients of the AKC Veterinary Outreach Scholarship are: Julia O’Rourke (Purdue University), Courtney Wicker (North Carolina State University), Holly Arnold (Oregon State University), Hannah Loonsk (University of Pennsylvania), Tyler Myers (North Carolina State University), Julia Zuercher (Virginia-Maryland Regional College), Corene Bruhns (Cornell University), Emily Eppler (Kansas State), Kaitlin Gonzales (Oregon State University), Therese Millet (University of Illinois), Dylan DeProspero (North Carolina State University), Kaitlyn Dreese (University of Pennsylvania), Alison Folsom (Tufts University), Gabrielle Rands (Mississippi State University), Charlotte Wissel (University of Florida).

“The recipients of this scholarship are truly dedicated to the world of purebred dogs and the health and well-being of animals. They have worked hard to balance their demanding school schedules with participation in AKC events,” said Mari-Beth O’Neill, VP of Sport Services. “We are very proud of them and look forward to seeing their impact on the future of veterinary medicine.” 


Julia O’Rourke

(Purdue University)

Courtney Wicker

(North Carolina 
State University)

Holly Arnold

(Oregon State University)

Hannah Loonsk

(University of Pennsylvania)

Tyler Myers

(North Carolina 
State University)

Julia Zuercher

Regional College)

Corene Bruhns

(Cornell University)

Emily Eppler

(Kansas State)

Kaitlin Gonzales

(Oregon State University)

Therese Millet

(University of Illinois)

Dylan DeProspero

(North Carolina 
State University)

Kaitlyn Dreese

(University of Pennsylvania)

Alison Folsom

(Tufts University)

Gabrielle Rands

(Mississippi State University)

Charlotte Wissel

(University of Florida)




ShowSight Magazine
The Aramedia Group
PO BOX 18567
Tampa, FL 33679

(512) 686 3466